Remote access of switch via ping/telnet

VTP, Portfast, Spanning Tree and all the other switch related stuff.
Will.Lobo
Hello I'm new here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:40 am
Location: Alberta

Remote access of switch via ping/telnet

Post by Will.Lobo » Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:48 am

So I'm totally new to setting up Cisco Switches. I got a 2960 that I was supposed to add to our network and trunk vlans from our core switch (4000 series). All access VLANS work no problem, users are able to plug in and get the correct VLAN based on what port they are plugged into. However VLAN100 was set aside as the management vlan, I assigned an IP to it but I am unable to ping that IP.

As I was writing the above I realized that I was missing the "transport input" command. However shouldn't I be able to ping the IP without the transport input command there?

Code is below, I removed switch port configuration as it's no applicable.

Code: Select all

Current configuration : 18275 bytes
!
version 12.2
no service pad
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname switch1
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
enable secret 5 <removed>
!
username support privilege 15 secret 5 <removed>

!
aaa authentication login default local
aaa authentication enable default enable
!
!
!
aaa session-id common
system mtu routing 1500
vtp domain ABC40
vtp mode transparent
ip subnet-zero
!
!
!
!
spanning-tree mode pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
!
vlan internal allocation policy ascending
!
vlan 47,62,81 
!

interface GigabitEthernet0/1
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 91,95,100
 switchport mode trunk
 spanning-tree vlan 100 cost 2
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/2
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/3
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/4
!
interface Vlan1
 no ip address
 no ip route-cache
 shutdown
!
interface Vlan100
 ip address 10.10.10.41 255.255.255.0
 no ip route-cache
!
ip default-gateway 10.10.10.1
no ip http server
logging 10.100.10.10
access-list 8 permit 10.10.10.10
access-list 8 deny   any log
access-list 10 permit 10.10.0.0 0.0.0.255 log
access-list 10 deny   any log
access-list 10 permit 10.10.0.0 0.0.255.255 log
snmp-server community <removed> RO 8
snmp-server location Office
snmp-server contact Office
snmp-server enable traps envmon fan shutdown supply temperature status
snmp-server host 10.10.10.10 <removed> 
snmp ifmib ifindex persist
!
control-plane
!

line con 0
 exec-timeout 5 0
line vty 0 4
 exec-timeout 5 0
 length 0
line vty 5 15
!
end

kyledotroberts
Hello I'm new here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:40 am

Re: Remote access of switch via ping/telnet

Post by kyledotroberts » Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:04 am

Hi Will,

So VLAN100 is configured over your gigtrunk and facing a device that's also got VLAN100 configured?

Not sure how much troubleshooting you've done so far but a good first step is making sure this trunk is actually sending VLAN100 traffic across it thanks to spanning tree? (sh int trunk)

If that's not an issue, its forwarding happily (on all layer2 devices in the path), then it'll come down to where the layer3 breakout is, either a L3 switch or a router and whether they've a VLAN100 subinterface configured etc or if it's a layer3 switch, that whatever router that might face knows how to route back to that L3 switch for this subnet.

I don't believe the switch is the problem if "sh interface trunk" shows you that VLAN100 is forwarding happily, it's be the routing somewhere between your machine and the switch more than likely.

Will.Lobo
Hello I'm new here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:40 am
Location: Alberta

Re: Remote access of switch via ping/telnet

Post by Will.Lobo » Tue Aug 30, 2011 12:09 pm

The 2960 switch's config I posted is an access switch plugged into a 4300 series core switch. I can't ping the 2960 from the 4300 or the other way around. No telnet either.

The sh int trunk command doesen't show any issues...

I'll post the config from the 4300 tomorrow.

Post Reply